A little book haul

As summer is looming, my thirst for words is growing – the summer holidays are simply when I do the most reading for pleasure.

Having this in mind, as well as the voucher I had lying around and my flatmate’s departure coming up, the two of us decided to go on a mate date to Waterstones (and have some cake afterwards). Here are the little treasures I came home with:

DSC00745

Vicious by V. E. Schwab

Victor and Eli, due to a research project gone wrong, become ExtraOrdinaries with supernatural powers. Ten years later Victor escapes from prison, determined to get his revenge on the man who put him there, while Eli has spent the years hunting down and killing other EOs. Driven by the memory of betrayal and loss, the arch-nemeses have set a course for revenge…

I honestly don’t know a lot about this book. What I do know that, apparently, V.E. Schwab (or Victoria Schwab) is an amazing author. I follow her on Twitter, and she seems like a really nice person (and I really, really admire her work ethic – she puts in so many hours a day!) but I have yet to read a book of hers. When in the shop, I was choosing between Vicious and A Darker Shade of Magic. In the end I opted for the first, thinking that it was a stand alone, BUT it appears there may be sequels… Oh well! I’m ready to be blown away!

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

In general, Karou has managed to keep her two lives in balance. On the one hand, she’s a seventeen-year-old art student in Prague; on the other, errand-girl to a monstrous creature who is the closest thing she has to family. Raised half in our world, half in ‘Elsewhere’, she has never understood Brimstone’s dark work – buying teeth from hunters and murderers – nor how she came into his keeping. She is a secret even to herself, plagued by the sensation that she isn’t whole. Now the doors to Elsewhere are closing, and Karou must choose between the safety of her human life and the dangers of a war-ravaged world that may hold the answers she has always sought.

All I know about this book is what’s on the blurb you’ve just read. That and that a whole lot of people on good ol’ booktube love this book and its sequels (as it is the first in a trilogy). I’ve been wanting to pick this book up for a while now, and I’m kind of in the mood for something fantastical, so I finally cracked!


The Year I Met You
 by CeceliaDSC00746 Ahern

The year that changed my life. 

For Jasmine, losing her job felt like losing everything. 

The year I found home. 

With a life built around her career and her beloved sister Heather, suddenly her world becomes the house and garden she has hardly seen and the neighbours she has yet to meet. 

The year I met you. 

But being fired is just the beginning for Jasmine. In the year that unfolds she learns more about herself than she could ever imagine – and more about other people than she ever dreamed. Sometimes friendship is found in the most unexpected of places.

In my “Top 5 Auto-buy Authors” video I mentioned Cecelia and my love for her books. The Year I Met You was first released in 2014, but I have been eagerly awaiting the arrival of the paperback, which finally came out a few weeks ago. I don’t know much about the plot yet, but knowing Cecelia Ahern, I’ll love whatever she’s come up with. I can’t wait to finally read this!

Thanks for stopping by – I will be back, same time, next week!

Love,

Christa

Leave a Comment

