Anticipated Releases

In a way, this blog post is linked to this week’s video on my YouTube channel – namely My Bookish Wish List. But whereas the video will mainly be about the books I wish to own and read that are already published, this post will be about the books I wish to own and read that are yet to be released.

queen of shadows

  1. Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas (01/09/2015)

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. Now she returns to the empire – to confront the shadows of her past …The fourth breathtaking instalment in the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series. Bloodthirsty for revenge on the two men responsible for destroying her life, and desperate to find out if the prince and his captain are safe, Celaena returns to Rifthold, the seat of so much evil.

I’ve read Throne of Glass for the first time this January, and quickly followed it up with the sequels (and prequels!) after finishing it. I adore this series and can’t wait to see where it will go. Sidenote: I also love Maas’s writing – it is so well done and I will forever be envious of the words she manages to choose!

  1. the next togetherThe Next Together by Lauren James (03/09/2015)

A powerful and epic debut novel about fate and the timelessness of first love. Katherine and Matthew are destined to be born again and again. Each time their presence changes history for the better, and each time, they fall hopelessly in love, only to be tragically separated. How many times can you lose the person you love? For Matthew and Katherine it is again and again, over and over, century after century. But why do they keep coming back? How many times must they die to save the world? What else must they achieve before they can be left to live and love in peace? Maybe the next together will be different.

I think I first stumbled upon Lauren James and her upcoming debut after following author Alice Oseman on twitter. The two are friends and Alice might’ve mentioned The Next Together. I followed Lauren quickly after and found out more about her novel. It sounds very sweet and exciting and I can’t wait to read it! (I won’t lie: part of my excitement comes from Lauren being a young author at only 22, which, you know, is always inspiring to me!) I’ve already got the book pre-ordered, so I’ll be reading it as soon as it lands on our doormat.

  1. flawedFlawed by Cecelia Ahern (March or April 2016)

Celestine North lives a perfect life. She’s a model daughter and sister, she’s well-liked by her classmates and teachers, and she’s dating the impossibly charming Art Crevan.But then Celestine encounters a situation in which she makes an instinctive decision. She breaks a rule and now faces life-changing repercussions. She could be imprisoned. She could be branded. She could be found FLAWED.

Let us be silent in our excitement for a moment…

I am so, so, so excited for this book! I’ve been reading Cecelia Ahern’s novels for years and have always loved them, but now she’s releasing a YA novel! From what I gather it’s the first in a dystopian duology (the second being named ‘Perfect’) and it will be released early 2016. I can’t wait to see how she handles a different audience and genre!

  1. hp one illustratedThe illustrated edition of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling & Jim Kay (06/10/2015)

Prepare to be spellbound by Jim Kay’s dazzling depiction of the wizarding world and much loved characters in this full-colour illustrated hardback edition of the nation’s favourite children’s book – Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. Brimming with rich detail and humour that perfectly complements J.K. Rowling’s timeless classic, Jim Kay’s glorious illustrations will captivate fans and new readers alike.

This book. Oh man, this book. It looks stunning. I always thought Harry Potter could’ve done with some illustrations (especially ‘cause its intended audience is children) and now it’s happening! The few illustrations that have been released look amazing and I think Jim Kay has interpreted the characters wonderfully. It might take a while for me to get my hands on this book once it’s released, because it retails at a whopping £30, but I’ll get it eventually!

  1. more happy than notMore Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera (unknown)

The Leteo Institute s revolutionary memory-relief procedure seems too good to be true to Aaron Soto miracle cure-alls don’t tend to pop up in the Bronx projects. Aaron could never forget how he’s grown up poor, how his friends aren’t there for him, or how his father committed suicide in their one-bedroom apartment. Aaron has the support of his patient girlfriend, if not necessarily his distant brother and overworked mother, but it’s not enough. Then Thomas shows up. He has a sweet movie-watching set-up on his roof, and he doesn’t mind Aaron’s obsession with a popular fantasy series. There are nicknames, inside jokes. Most importantly, Thomas doesn’t mind talking about Aaron’s past. But Aaron’s newfound happiness isn’t welcome on his block. Since he can’t stay away from Thomas or suddenly stop being gay, Aaron must turn to Leteo to straighten himself out, even if it means forgetting who he is.

Another case of me following the author on Twitter and learning about their upcoming debut. As of right now, More Happy Than Not has already been published in the USA and has received many glowing reviews. I could order it on Amazon and get the American hardback of this book, but I’m leaning towards waiting for it to be sold to the UK. Apparently the novel is somewhat heart-warming, but in equal parts heart-breaking, and I can’t wait to read it.

That is it for today – I’m sure in the future I’ll bring back this feature and discuss some more of my anticipated releases, but for now these are the highest on my list!

Love,

Christa

Leave a Comment

