My Topdeck Trip – Part I: Anticipation & Packing

DSC00791

If you’re subscribed to my YouTube channel, you might have seen the video below of a recent two-day trip I made to London. For this two-day trip I got invited to come to London by Topdeck Travel to learn, as a member of their new Topdeck Academy, what the brand is about – having fun, exploring, meeting new people and discovering new places. Not only did it turn into one of my favourite ever videos that I’ve made, I also had a great time cycling along the south bank in the sun and meeting my fellow Topdeckers!

As part of our role in the Topdeck Academy, each of us is being sent on a Topdeck trip of our choice. My trip is starting very soon and will be taking me all the way to Egypt! This will be my first time setting foot on the African continent (making it the third continent I’ve travelled to) and I’m so incredibly excited. Earlier this year I didn’t even think I’d go on holiday, and if I would’ve gone I would have gone to Norway to visit a friend, so to suddenly be whisked away on a plane to travel around Egypt for 10 days came as a very welcome surprise!

I must admit that part of me is rather, really, very nervous at the prospect of this trip as I’ve never done anything like it before: I don’t know any of the language in Egypt (at least in Venice I could semi-understand Italian because I had French in school…), I don’t know anyone who is going on the trip and I’ve never met any of them, my flight includes a transfer – something I haven’t done before and am internally freaking out about quite a bit, and I feel like the entire culture in Egypt will just be so different from what I know and am used to. But. I’m sure I’ll be fine. I’m a, sort of, grown-up. I’ve travelled to foreign places before. I got this.

I’ve finally done my packing, and decided to turn it into a video as well, as you can see above. The video and this blog post should be the first in a little series detailing the events and excitement of my trip. I don’t think I’ll update this blog on my travels as I go (though I won’t say for certain I won’t), but will definitely dedicate a few posts to the trip once I’ve returned to the lowlands (or the island in the North Sea). I’ll also definitely be making at least one video of the trip, though I’m not sure yet of the format, so keep your eyes peeled for that too!

You can also follow me on instagram to see some photos as I post them.

I’m ecstatic to be going on this trip and I hope you’ll enjoy this diversion from books on my blog!

Love,

Christa

6 thoughts on “My Topdeck Trip – Part I: Anticipation & Packing

  1. wherethepeoplewere says:

    I’m so excited for you! 😍 Hope you have the best trip, but stay safe! Will be thinking of you and can’t wait to read your posts about it later! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

